Creamy Garlic Sharp Cheddar Grits

Cheddar Grits Recipe

I love creamy grits for dinner and for breakfast. My mother is from the south so I feel like grits run in my blood even though she doesn’t make them. I have finally got my husband on board with liking them as well with my creamy garlic sharp cheddar grits recipe.

Cheddar Grits Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 onion diced
  • 1 bell pepper
  • 2 cups ground grits
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 2 tablespoons of butter
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 2 cups of half-and-half
  • 1 cup of grated cheddar cheese 
  • 2 green onion tops (to top the grits)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Heat butter in a large sauce pan or dutch oven. 
  2. Add onion, bell pepper and garlic. Cook for five to seven minutes or until they become to begin soft.
  3. Add grits and stir.
  4. Add in chicken broth and water. Stir. 
  5. Bring to boil. Cover and reduce heat to low. Cook for 30 minutes and stir occasionally.
  6. After 30 minutes add in the half-and-half. Cook for another 30 minutes until grits are tender.
  7. Turn heat up and stir consistently for five to ten minutes depending on how thick you want your grits.
  8. Remove from heat and add in grated cheese. Stir. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  9. Plate and add the green onion tops.
Cheddar Grits Recipe

I served my grits with steamed shrimp. I wish I had an amazing steamed shrimp recipe but I just use the recipe from the Old Bay seasoning box (1/2 cup water, 1/2 vinegar, a couple of tablespoons of Old Bay). It’s the best recipe I have found.

Cheddar Grits Recipe

Have you ever made grits? If so, what do you serve yours with?

Enjoy,

Ellen

    Let’s be friends:
    Facebook.Twitter.Pinterest.Instagram.

    Leave a comment